Skip Navigation
Focus and Priority Schools
Federal Accountability

The Every Student Succeeds Act (ESSA) became law on December 10, 2015, replacing the No Child Left Behind Act on July 1, 2017.  Under the provisions of Texas Education Code (TEC), Chapter 39, the state is required to provide interventions to improve identified low-performing schools. The ESSA statute increases the flexibility and decision-making authority afforded to states, encourages states and schools to be innovative, and holds states accountable for results.  ESSA provides a unique opportunity for the Texas Education Agency (TEA) to chart a path for shifting key decisions related to school improvement, funding, and resources.

As the state prepares to implement the requirements under ESSA for school year 2018–2019, TEA will utilize school year 2017–2018 as a transition year.  During the transition year, the agency will identify new priority and focus campuses, continue to develop an aligned system of state and federal identification and interventions, and provide technical assistance and resources. This letter provides information regarding identification, intervention requirements, and funding for priority and focus schools for school year 2017–2018.


  Texas Education Agency: Priority, Focus, and Reward Schools

Here you will find school listings for Priority and Focus Schools by year, as well as methodology and FAQ.

Adobe Acrobat icon
ESEA Turnaround Principles–TEA

Adobe Acrobat icon
Alignment of ESEA Turnaround Principles and Critical Success Factors
  Critical Success Factors

For more detailed information on Critical Success Factors, click on link to the left.



Shannon Allen
(210) 370-5481
Jamie M. Goodwin
(210) 370-5366

Copyright © 1985 - 2018. All rights reserved.

powered by ezTaskTitanium TM